Review: The Selection

Overall Rating: 5 stars

Book Name: The Selection (The Selection, #1)
Author: Kiera Cass
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Book Boyfriend: Maxon

From Goodreads:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Fresh. Unique. Gorgeous.

*First impression truly lasts.*

It’s the most stunning, beautiful and catchy cover I have ever seen in my life. Look at the beautiful girl in that blue dress? Isn’t she enough to read the book itself? Well, I think the cover speaks for itself already.

I have read not so good reviews about this book and at first I was disappointed of what they have written there because it was not true or they just did not see the beauty that lies within “The Selection”. And I would tell you why.

First: The Selection, just like with “The Bachelor” TV series is about finding the one, the most right girl out of the chosen girls. But “The Selection” has a twist. There are scenes in the book that are far better than the former.

Second: The unique and fresh dystopian concept. Many are comparing “The Selection” with the “The Hunger Games” and the like that the heroine physically fights for their desire of freedom, self-discovery, etc. but here in “The Selection”, the girls are fighting, but not physically, to win the heart of Prince Maxon and to be crowned as the Princess of Illea. I don’t think any princess will fight brutally.

Third: The love story in this book is very good. I love Maxon, I also love Aspen and most especially I love America (and the stunning girls in the Selection). She is just doing very well from the moment she filled out the form. Really.

There are more more spectacular things in the book that I will not mention but nevertheless they all are what makes “The Selection” the talk of the town.

My favorite quote:

“I hope you find someone you can’t live without.I really do. And I hope you never have to know what it’s like to have to try and live without them.”

Warning signSPOILER ALERT

I think there is something personal about those rebels attacking the palace but not taking the valuables inside it. I really feel it. Do you feel it too? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

